Graphic Design 1 – Week 9 – Book Cover

Project 12 Book Cover Project Inspiration: http://bookcoverarchive.com/ http://www.creativebloq.com/typography/10-great-uses-typography-book-covers-10134890 Templates & Mockups (optional) http://www.freecreatives.com/mockups/psd-book-cover-mockup.html http://graphicburger.com/hardcover-book-mockup/ Notes on printing:                 If you are printing your book cover on a regulart 8.5×11 (letter size) printer you will need to set up the printer to tile your work across multiple pages. Make…

Graphic Design 1- Week 8 – Font Design

Project 11 Font Project web based font makers: for thinner font designs – https://glyphter.com http://www.pentacom.jp/pentacom/bitfontmaker2/ http://fontstruct.com/ http://www.myscriptfont.com/ http://www.paintfont.com font design book: http://designwithfontforge.com/en-US/What_Is_a_Font.html font design lecture: A video lecture from Type Designer Aoife Mooney Free fonts (inspiration): http://www.creativebloq.com/graphic-design-tips/best-free-fonts-for-designers-1233380 free downloadable programs: for mac/pc: https://birdfont.org for mac/pc/linux: http://fontforge.github.io/en-US/ for mac: http://www.fontconstructor.com/screenmovie/index.html for pc: http://www.cr8software.net/typelight.html FONT Building basics: The following…

Graphic Design 1 – Week 6 – Grid

PROJECT: Project 9 Grid Project Grids are used to create aesthetically pleasing designs. Grids have evolved over time and there are many ways in which they can be used. Some examples can be found here: http://www.thinkingwithtype.com/contents/grid/ Golden Ratio & Fibonacci grid: http://www.creativebloq.com/design/designers-guide-golden-ratio-12121546 More examples: Grid poster: http://www.ericsoleimdesign.com/full/grid.html Magazine Grid: http://www.elliotjaystocks.com/blog/digests-typography-and-grids-part-1/ Van De Graaf Grid (used during the…

Graphic Design 1 – Midterm

604_Midterm Notes: Adding elements to the Master Page makes them repeat on all pages with the same Master Page letter applied Use None Page to clear Master Page formatting from any page Cmd+B – Text Frame Options – adjust vertical justification and inset spacing Shift+Cmd+Click w/Selection Tool- override a master page element Shift+Cmd+Drag w/Selection Tool…

Graphic Design 1 – Week 4 – Graphic Designers Current and Past

Project: 604_Project_7_Graphic_ Design_History_Project Paula Scher http://www.designboom.com/design/paula-scher-interview/ Maya Lin http://www.nytimes.com/1994/04/17/nyregion/connecticut-q-a-maya-lin-human-proportions-on-a-heroic-scale.html?pagewanted=all Barbara Kreuger http://www.interviewmagazine.com/art/barbara-kruger#_ Russian Poster Design Early 1900’s- Rodchenko, El Lissitzky –Russian Posters_and_Propoganda_Rodchenko http://www.designhistory.org//Avant_Garde_pages/Russia.html Saul Bass – http://www.designishistory.com/1960/saul-bass/ Shigeo Fukuda- http://www.designishistory.com/1960/shigeo-fukuda/ Milton Glasser- http://www.designishistory.com/1960/milton-glaser/ Ikko Tanaka – http://www.designishistory.com/1960/ikko-tanaka/ Ray Gun Magazine – http://www.designishistory.com/1980/ray-gun/ More Ray Gun –http://www.csun.edu/~pjd77408/DrD/Art461/LecturesAll/Lectures/PublicationDesign/DigitalTimes/David-Carson.html Tadanori Yokoo – http://50watts.com/Tadanori-Yokoo-posters Sarah Gottesdiener- http://www.sarahgottesdiener.com/ Selected Movements: Art Nouveau- http://www.designishistory.com/1850/art-nouveau/ Arts & Crafts Movement…

Graphic Design 1 – Week 3 – Working with Paragraphs

Class Notes: Paragraph_Settings Project: Setting a Quote 604_Project_5_Quote_Project 4- Panel Zine 604_Project_6_Zine_Project Quotes from Nina Simone, bell hooks and Andy Warhol Warhol_Simone_hooks_quotes Illustrator Paragraph Shortcuts CMD+SHIFT and Arrows (next to M) to increase size of type ALT + UP/DOWN change leading ALT + RIGHT/LEFT change tracking ALT + RIGHT/LEFT change kerning (when in between two letters) ALT…

Graphic Design 1 – Week 2 Type Classification and Anatomy

CLASS RESOURCES: Type Classification and Anatomy- Type_Classifications_2016 Classic Typefaces –Classic_Typefaces Type Classification Project- 604_Project_2_type_classification Type Anatomy Project- 604_Project_3_Anatomy_Project Expressive Type Project- 604_Project_4_Expressive_Type_Project NOTES & LINKS: Type Classification Examples and History – http://www.designingwithtype.com/cooper0/index.html Serif Overview – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serif Old Style Serif https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Old_style_serif_typefaces Transitional Style Serif https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Transitional_serif_typefaces Modern Style Serif https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Modern_serif_typefaces Slab Serif https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Slab_serif_typefaces Adobe Typekit, interactive site…